Amp and Cable suggestions
Aug 19, 2001 at 3:16 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 29

Ctn

Headphoneus Supremus
What do you think would be good for me?

I have(soon) a Denon DCD-775AR cd player.
What amp and cables would be good?

budget for amp is about 300 US.

there's soo many cables out there that im soooo lost

Aug 19, 2001 at 3:52 AM Post #2 of 29
You have the HD590s, which is a Sennheiser, which is a tad bright, so a tube amp would suit you well...

Not sure for <$300 now... a while ago you could get an MG Head for <$300 but I don't think so now, maybe new?

There still is the Creek OBH-11 but I'm not sure how good of a match they would be.

I'd worry about interconnects much later... but check out cables at www.audioadvisor.com (MIT Terminators are good and cheap, like a T4).

Aug 19, 2001 at 3:55 AM Post #3 of 29
i love bright treble as long as its not distorted
smily_headphones1.gif

how much are tube amps and how do they differ from normal amps?

im a newbie hehe

how do they connect to the cdp? like a normal amp?

Aug 19, 2001 at 5:15 AM Post #4 of 29
There have been some 'budget' tube amps lately, the Xcans v2 (now discontinued) and the MG Head (now only the upgraded $330 version available from Headroom). These generally are best suited for Sennheisers.

The Creek solid state amp is regarded as good, goes for $200 from Headroom (the upgraded one, OBH-11SE is $350 but some state that the MG Head is a better value). However it might not be a great match with your Senns.

I'd try and get a used tube amp, you can find MG Heads at www.audiogon.com

As for cables, they connect via 75 ohm (actually I dont think this matters) RCA terminated cables to your CDP. For starters, I'd suggest MIT Terminators (which ever one fits your budget... they do well on relieving a bright system apparantely).

Also, what CDP are you using? Maybe it should be upgraded too...

Aug 19, 2001 at 5:21 AM Post #5 of 29