DAC/amp + Headphones on a £200ish budget
Nov 26, 2012 at 7:01 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

kreggurree

New Head-Fier
I am a little new to audiophile gear and this will be my first purchase beyond my sennheiser 201's. As the title says I am looking for a headphone \ dac combo to use with my laptop (and maybe sansa clip to).

My sources :
Laptop
Sansa Clip Zip

What  I own :
Sennheiser 201
Steel series 7H (a £20 bargain, I am aware of how poorly the audio compares at full price)

I am a little unsure if I want to go the route of IEM's instead, as they are compact and can be used in any situation, I worry about durability and sound quality for price. As really I don't listen too much when walking these days (I can get a cheap pair for running) My listening mostly happens at home and on long journeys on trains and planes. But I like how little space they would take up in hand luggage.

Any way the things on my radar are:
DT770
ATH M50
Grados?
Some £100-130 IEM's

Fiio E17

What are your suggestions? and whats the right split between dac and headphones at this budget point?

Nov 26, 2012 at 7:51 PM Post #2 of 4
You're going to need to provide more details on your sound preferences, what genres you listen to. If you're walking around though, the Grados leak like no tomorrow. I used to use them for portable cans, and people just gave me angry stares all the time. Didn't even turn them up loudly. 

Nov 26, 2012 at 8:19 PM Post #3 of 4
Oh yeah I totally forgot to do that in this thread.

I listen to Classical (particularly Orchestral, Piano and cello), Prog Rock (Porcupine Tree), Acoustic Guitar (Iron and Wine through to Andy mckee and antoine dufour), Jazz. 

I don't like thumping bass but I like it tight and with some weight  (if that makes sense), I love the feeling of immersion.