Denafrips Pontus II vs. ??? - Help Me Decide
Jan 9, 2022 at 3:59 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

ColSaulTigh

Headphoneus Supremus
Hello all!

I need some advice. I have a Woo Audio WA6-SE (2nd Gen) incoming and I need a DAC to pair with it. I have no experience with DACs side from the one built into my xDuoo TA-30. Currently using headphones for all of my listening, but will eventually set up a dedicated listening room with momitors as well. It would be nice to have a single device that I can use for both.

Having said all that, I'm looking for feedback. Trying to stay under $2k, but open to more of I can see the value in investing more. Likewise, if I don't need to spend that much, please advise. I don't want a combo device, I prefer single task components.

Right now, the Denafrips Pontus II seems to be my top contender. Aside from the multiple positive reviews, I like the very clean aesthetic. Also, I'm going for silver components, not that that is critical.

So.... Thoughts?

Thanks!

Jan 9, 2022 at 7:42 PM Post #2 of 16
Audio-gd R8 MKII

Jan 9, 2022 at 7:49 PM Post #3 of 16
Jan 9, 2022 at 7:51 PM Post #4 of 16
Can you provide any insight as to why you like this DAC versus the Denafrips?
I cannot, given I have not heard the Denafrips.

But, the service from Audio-gd is personal and very good. The hardware has an industrial/battleship build, and the sound is just wonderful. I started out with one of his small R2R DACs and now I have a bunch of his gear.

Jan 9, 2022 at 8:03 PM Post #5 of 16
I cannot, given I have not heard the Denafrips.

But, the service from Audio-gd is personal and very good. The hardware has an industrial/battleship build, and the sound is just wonderful. I started out with one of his small R2R DACs and now I have a bunch of his gear.
Understood - thank you for the input!

Jan 10, 2022 at 4:03 PM Post #6 of 16
Also look at the Holo Audio Spring 3. This starts at $2200 but it's very highly rated.

CLICK ME