Hello! Need help with amp for my T5p and classical music! (future Audeze)
Jan 15, 2014 at 4:21 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

Tgtr0660

New Head-Fier
Hi! This is my first post in this forum which I have visited for advice many many times! 

I'm relatively new to the head-fi world and I wouldn't consider myself anything close to a golden-ear music fan. I mostly listen to classical music and have a gigantic cd collection but I also like rock, especially some progressive rock and metal. I sometimes explore other genres from jazz to new age to blatant pop but this is like 1% of the time. 90% of the time is devoted to classical music and the rest to some forms of rock. And is this interest in music first and foremost which eventually turned into interest in audio and especially in headphones. 

I've always preferred headphones as I like to hear things by myself and want to focus on details. I have decent loudspeakers and a good setup but my main listening system is a headphone one. Now, by head-fi standards my setup in the pre-headphone side is quite miserable: a Marantz Cd player CD-5004 and a V-Can Musical Fidelity headphone amp. I barely use portable devices for music (except sometimes in my car) since I have always been a music collector and don't like music stored in a hard drive (dinosaur they could call me). I will need advice with this side of the head-fi world: I need to improve my player and my amplifier but I'm not sure what is a good option that doesn't cost an arm and a leg.