The battle of the electrostats
Sep 25, 2005 at 11:25 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 24

gsferrari

Member of the Trade: Veda Audio Contributor
Phew...

I've set my rig up over this weekend and I am listening to my dear headphones after nearly a month.

Dont let that lead you to understand that these comments are "sudden" observations that have been made without due diligence. I have been using the Omega-II and HE-60 for several months now and they have both grown on me in their own way.

I will not part with either of them if I can help it (and I can
smily_headphones1.gif
). I just want to make it clear that those of you with the Omega-IIs can sit back and relax a little because I have come to the conclusion that it is the more desirable of the two electrostats. While the HE-60 has it's own separate CD stack...music that just sounds unbelievable with this headphone...the Omega-II's stack overlaps with the Sa5000 and HE60.

In other words...if I had to reach for one headphone out of these three...it will be the Omega-II simply because it is the best of both worlds...I simply believe it has a superior transducer and response. The HE60 is easier to use and less finicky of amplification.

So you O2 users who are lusting for the HE60 or even the HE90 - relax and dont worry if you cant find that dream headphone just yet. Juice up the O2 with a KGSS and let it weave it's magic on you...

The flaws of the SA5000 are becoming more obvious over time...

Sep 26, 2005 at 1:31 AM Post #2 of 24
The bass is absolutely fantastic with the Omega 2's.

You can actually feel them moving next to your ears.

But I still want more detail and precise imaging. That is where I still like my R10's better.

Now if only there could be a crazy hybrid R10/Omega 2....

Time for you to audition the HE90's for comparison too, Guru.
evil_smiley.gif

Which amp(s) are you using now, BTW?

-Ed

Sep 27, 2005 at 12:05 AM Post #4 of 24