Tube Basic Question / Confusion 6N3, 6A8Q, 2C51, ECF82, 6H3N
Mar 7, 2023 at 6:46 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

LowBeat91

100+ Head-Fier
I'm new to the hobby of tubes but got a taste for it with a little Douk Audio T8 Tube Balanced EQ. I really want to try tube rolling and am therefore looking for suitable tubes. Now it is the case that tubes have many different names and although the numbers are relatively similar, they are not compatible with each other. For example, I don't know if the 6N3 is similar to the 6N3P. Here is the list of tubes compatible with the Douk Audio T8:

AF8EF843-8A3E-44F2-8DE4-9747CE4B62E0.png

Could you help and recommend some to try?

Last edited:
Mar 7, 2023 at 12:37 PM Post #4 of 5
I can’t say for sure it if the pins are the same (just because it fits in the socket doesn’t mean it is the same pin out), but the tubes looks very similar.

I would stick to the tubes Douk refers to to start with and work my way towards understanding what tubes that work and why :)

Mar 10, 2023 at 10:23 AM Post #5 of 5
TDSL is your friend. You can even load their "TDSL Personal Edition" on your PC. It searches for the tube types you want, then gives you substitutes, as in "Identical or close" or "Different ratings or performance." You can create an infinite mirror loop of searching, too, by clicking on one of the "Identical or close" results and using that as a primary search tube type for other substitutes, find another one, then do it again, etc., etc.

TDSL stands for Tube Data Search Locator: https://tdsl.duncanamps.com/tubesearch.php