What Exactly is a DAC?
Mar 19, 2013 at 11:29 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

jonnyp11

100+ Head-Fier
Looking into some fancy new headphones and saw a lot of stuff about AMP's and DAC's, and not too sure exactly what a DAC offers. Obviously I'm new to all this, and money is an issue but currently I'm just planning and will work that out when I get there. Just to give a reference, let's say I'm getting the Sennheiser Momentums and/or HD 598 for now, and I plan to use them with my iPad for the most part, and my computer some too, and I will mainly use pandora and other streaming services for the music itself (not paying for music and avoiding pirating, got a few just for when i have no internet). What should I get to go with this? right now from a quick search I've found the FiiO E07K or possibly the E10, but I can't tell what adapters or other devices may be needed. And I can't tell if the E10 is portable or not, which is a strong preference, as Most of my use will be at school (this won't be too fun to lug around but i can make it work if it's worth it)

Really though, How much better does it sound using a DAC? I have no room to put an audio card in my computer thanks to my ghetto graphics card (replacement coolers ain't cheap and fans broke so 2 case fans are strapped to the bezel, surprisingly good temps really and it's a GTX470), so will this stuff even make enough of a difference without one?

Mar 20, 2013 at 11:29 AM Post #2 of 8
An iPod is a DAC, your PC is a DAC, if all you want to do is amplify what's already coming out of the hardware via analog (headphone connection), then you won't need a DAC.  E11 comes to mind.  If you will be using digital out on your PC or any other source that has digital out, then a DAC would be necessary to convert to Analog to hear on standard phones.  (Digital to Analog Converter).  Hope that helps a little bit.

Mar 20, 2013 at 11:39 AM Post #3 of 8