Which would you recommend for producing/mastering?
Feb 19, 2014 at 4:07 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

rob24g

New Head-Fier
Hey there guys, so I've been producing EDM (electro/dutch/house) for a little over 4 months now.  I use FL studio and crappy logitech speakers (here and there) and beats by dre to produce all my songs on. (yes I know beats by dre are **** on a stick, I got these as a gift.) 

That being said its time for a new set of cans.. I had three in mind, so my question to you is.. if you won a contest and you were able to select one which would it be?

1. Audio-Technica ATH-M50
2. V-MODA Crossfade LP
3. KRK KNS8400

If you wouldn't chose any of the 3 above, what would it be? (keep in mind I'm in the $100-$150 range)

Also I've noticed a lot of people tend to produce on studio monitors such as krk rokit's and yamaha hs's.  Due to living in a dorm room and having a ton of people living around me I just wouldn't be able to purchase these and produce when I want.  Will my productions take a hit because I'm solely producing on headphones?

Feb 19, 2014 at 4:15 PM Post #2 of 10
I recommend using open-back headphones with good bass FR and extension. You'll be able to create your music with better instrument separation and stereo phasing if you use reverb and delay. You don't want headphones where the bass bleeds into the midrange either cause then you won't be able to accurately impliment your limiters and compression.

Feb 19, 2014 at 8:29 PM Post #4 of 10
$100-$150 doesnt have much to choose from but in that price range you probably would want to get the AKG K240's (semi open), Sony 7510 (closed back) or Shure SRH840 (closed back). The reason I listed to Closed headphones is becasue they usually have a better bass response than opens (or semi-opens) in the same price range. Although the K240's are very nice

Feb 26, 2014 at 4:31 AM Post #5 of 10
Open includes the Audio Technica ATH-AD700 in there as well

Feb 26, 2014 at 6:07 AM Post #6 of 10