First DAP
Dec 30, 2017 at 3:57 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

mRaaghava

100+ Head-Fier
Presently i am using my phone S7 as source and E17K DAC to drive my headphone Sennheiser HD 598 SE. I am thinking to buy a DAP to enjoy my music better. As i am a beginner of sorts, which DAPs you will suggest me first? I am looking at Cayin N3, FiiO X3, Sony NWZ A35, FiiO X5, Opus 1, Plenue D, Cayin N5-II and Plenue R. Which one among these or any others can give me a solid upgrade over my phone's audio quality? I am planning to sell of E17K to buy any IEM that can do great with DAP. IEM suggestions are also welcome.

Dec 30, 2017 at 7:44 PM Post #2 of 9
I can only speak to the Plenue D and X3. Only buy the Plenue D if you need stupid good battery life. The X3 was completely underwhelming when I heard it. You have a wildly varying list of daps when it comes to price there, may want to narrow down a budget and others may be able to give a better recommendation.

Dec 30, 2017 at 7:52 PM Post #3 of 9
I can only speak to the Plenue D and X3. Only buy the Plenue D if you need stupid good battery life. The X3 was completely underwhelming when I heard it. You have a wildly varying list of daps when it comes to price there, may want to narrow down a budget and others may be able to give a better recommendation.
I am looking at $300-$550 range.

Dec 30, 2017 at 8:02 PM Post #4 of 9
I am looking at $300-$550 range.

Take a look at the official threads for the Fiio X5 3rd gen, Shanling M3s and Cayin N5 2nd gen. I'm looking in the same price range as you and these 3 seem to be the top choices currently in that range. Should be some comparisons in those threads to other daps as well.

Dec 31, 2017 at 5:08 AM Post #5 of 9
Take a look at the official threads for the Fiio X5 3rd gen, Shanling M3s and Cayin N5 2nd gen. I'm looking in the same price range as you and these 3 seem to be the top choices currently in that range. Should be some comparisons in those threads to other daps as well.