Absolutely floored by my new amp - RSA Raptor w/ Tube Rolling Impressions
Oct 24, 2008 at 6:27 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 566

raffy

100+ Head-Fier
I'm fairly new to head-fi and I normally do not write impressions as I feel not knowledgeable enough to write some but after taking delivery of my Raptor two hours ago, I feel like I have to write this.

I AM ABSOLUTELY FLOORED BY THIS AMP!!!!!

Coming from a Melos SHA-1 to the Raptor is most definitely an upgrade, esp. for my HD600s. I previously thought the the HD600 was waaay too neutral for me in fact, it was so easy to get uninvolved and just put my cans down. With the Raptor, I cannot believe how great the bass reproduction is - deep and creamy but still accurate. The overall presence of the music is much improved too.

Previously, I couldn't see how I can sit down and spend more than an hour and a half without taking off my cans, but I've been glued to my rig since I opened this package!

Anyway, thanks Ray for a great product! My single ended amp journey ends here!
smile.gif

Oct 24, 2008 at 7:16 PM Post #3 of 566
Congrats - glad you found happiness!

Oct 24, 2008 at 7:34 PM Post #5 of 566
Congratulations!
biggrin.gif

Nice to see that you really enjoy the Raptor.

Oct 24, 2008 at 7:35 PM Post #6 of 566
Quote:

Originally Posted by raffy /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Anyway, thanks Ray for a great product! My single ended amp journey ends here!
smile.gif

Ya right...
tongue.gif

Congrats on your new toy!

Oct 24, 2008 at 10:17 PM Post #7 of 566
Raffy, very glad you are enjoying your new Raptor. IMO it is a very nice sounding unit. Not as tubey as some all tube amps but very fast, detailed, and clear. As I recall it has very good extension.

Now, post some pictures.

Oct 24, 2008 at 10:22 PM Post #8 of 566