Advice for a new MP3 player?
Jul 21, 2011 at 6:19 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

straygray

New Head-Fier
Hey there,

I'm looking to purchase a new MP3 player, and this seems like the place to ask for advice. Honestly, I'm just looking for something that does music (in as many formats as possible, I suppose, even though I don't usually use FLACs, OGGs, etc.). I could care less about apps, video, etc. If possible, I'd like to grab something around $100, but my price range is a little variable. Really I just want to find something that plays very high quality music and that's going to last. I've been using the Sansa Clip for about two years, and I had to replace the thing twice.

Any suggestions?

Jul 21, 2011 at 6:29 PM Post #2 of 10
Quote:
Hey there,

I'm looking to purchase a new MP3 player, and this seems like the place to ask for advice. Honestly, I'm just looking for something that does music (in as many formats as possible, I suppose, even though I don't usually use FLACs, OGGs, etc.). I could care less about apps, video, etc. If possible, I'd like to grab something around $100, but my price range is a little variable. Really I just want to find something that plays very high quality music and that's going to last. I've been using the Sansa Clip for about two years, and I had to replace the thing twice.

Any suggestions?

Welcome to the Head-Fi forums!

I don't know personally since I don't own them, but a LOT of Head-Fi users will readily recommend the Sansa Clip+ or Sansa Fuze media players. They both support high quality formats and I have read that they have a very nice sound signature. The Clip+ has a small screen and you have to scroll through your lists with the click of a button, so if that doesn't suit you (which I'm assuming isn't too much of a problem since you've been using the Clip), the Fuze is a better choice since it has a larger screen and the UI scrolling is done through an iPod-esque scroll-wheel.