Asgard and HE-4 - noob
Nov 14, 2011 at 9:01 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

soymilkftw

New Head-Fier
First and foremost, i'm a noob.  I paired these two up recently and noticed I really have to crank up the knob to get it to where I normally listen on my SR80i.  I know the HE-4 are harder to drive and require an amp.  I was under the impression that the Asgard was beefy enough to drive it decently well.  ie: headfonia 

SR80i and iPhone = 75-80% on iphone
HE-4 and iPhone = 100% still too low (as to be expected)

SR80i and Asgard = 7-8 o'clock (10-20%)
HE-4 and Asgard = 3 o'clock (70-80%)

Is this normal for the Asgard?  I'm letting the headphones burn in a little bit more, as they only have about 20-30 hours on them right now, but the mids seem pretty recessed.  Does anymore know if the mids are going to open up with time?  Should I be concerned that I have to push the asgard pretty high to get what I want from the he-4?

My source right now is onboard sound off computer (playing cd, or flac/alac).  I'm looking to get the bifrost, but might settle for a HRT streamer II while schiit gets their backorders filled.  Would playing off my ps3, xbox, or bluray player give me better results?  The SR80i opened up a whole new world to me in terms of sound quality as opposed to cheapo headsets and ibuds.  I was hoping this new combo would bring that to a whole new level, but seems i'm either at a bottleneck or starting to hit a level of diminishing returns.

Nov 14, 2011 at 9:04 PM Post #3 of 10
Most likely it is the source. The HE-4 are not that hard to drive when compared to their bigger brothers but not the easiest headphone either. I no longer own the HE-4 but with both my amps which is a PPAv2 and a V200 on lowest gain setting I usually was not too much past 8-9 o'clock.

Nov 14, 2011 at 9:29 PM Post #4 of 10

Quote:
Heya,

Is there something wrong with turning your Asgard up to 5 o'clock?

Very best,