Best Portables for under $300 Senn HD25-1 vs ATH-M50 vs B&W P5 vs DT1350
Jun 1, 2011 at 6:23 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

Pwn3r4Life

100+ Head-Fier
Alright now I am pretty new to Head-Fi and after doing some research it seems like I am not the only one with this problem. Basically all of the other reviews I have read are either dated or vague so I figured I'd start this. Please base your reviews on if you were to use these portably, with only a small amp (if any), and a portable MP3 player.

Sennheiser HD25-1 II
hd251ii.jpg

The Powerhouse
$199.95

These headphones have been out for a while now and are loved by many for their tight bass and are said to be the best for fast paced music. Hard rock, heavy metal, and head banger type music is what is said to be the best for these headphones. Complaints state that the bass is too quick and not very deep, range lacks, is like "wearing a vice", and not too crisp of highs.

Audio Technica ATH-M50
audio-technica-ath-m50~1438551.jpg

The All-Rounder
$159.00
These headphones are known for their massive range for their size of 15-27,000 Hz. Described as the best all-rounder by many these headphones fit the bill for most users, audiophiles, and sound mixers alike. Complaints are that the "mid-range is a little cloudy," they are fragile, and users are unable to listen to them for more than 45 minutes due to their hard ear pads and tight fit.

Bowers & Wilkins P5
200_c811dcb0ee3c3d8c5138d2f2e300955f.jpg

The Stylish One
$293.69