Eartips for IEMs - which brand has most comfortable eartip sets for YOU? [Buying advice please]
Sep 14, 2022 at 11:03 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

Billmurraydelirium

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone, IEM total newbie (more of a headphone/speakers user) and looking for some advice please :)

I'd like to experience different sizing/tips/comfort/fit of IEMs, so I can discover whether I can find IEMs that are comfortable. When I was younger I didn't like stuff in my ear, but becoming more "open minded".
  • Could anyone kindly suggest some IEMs/gear to try, based on the spec below?
  • Or even suggest IEM listings website where I can filter at least some of these specified variables to narrow the search?
  • Or both sources of advice would be most welcome!

Specification (must haves)
1. Tips
i) IEM that already comes with a selection of tip sizes, OR
ii)
A separate, but easily available "variety box" of tips that is compatible with an IEM you recommend.
This criterion is based on my assumptions that:
  • It's the tips that dictates the comfort in general? and
  • Size is more important than material when talking about comfort? (Feel free to correct me on what dictates the comfort the most!)
2. Budget
USD 50-80 ish? for IEM and a set of tips (flexible)

3. Connector
MMCX only

4. Depth
The depth of the "IEM plus the tip" into the ear should be within a "typical", or at least "not uncommon" range of depth. Not extreme, that is to say: not either deep (etymotic) or shallow (earbud) types.

Specification (ideal/nice to haves - can increase budget)
5. IEM Sound
The IEM sound is sort of a secondary concern at this "fitting" stage, but might as well try to get one I like from the start, so:
i) Frequency response sounds balanced. Think "starter IEM" I guess OR
ii
) Good sub-bass and bass, and relaxed in the mids/highs/presence region (not too sharp/sibilant) OR
iii
) Suggestions for both of these styles most welcome! (Music style: Mostly electronic, hip hop and jazz.)

Notes
Setup