Ferrari of IEM's?
Dec 27, 2012 at 2:14 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 38

johntheman123

New Head-Fier
Hi,

So I'm by no means an expert audiophile or anything of the sort but am slowly becoming obsessed..

I live alone, and easily spend 12-14 hours a day listening to music using in ear headphones. I previously owned the Kilpsch S4's which I lost, and ended up buying some UE 900's from the Apple Store.

I think they are incredible - if played at the right volume and using the right track, but there's distortion occasionally, the awkward way you put them on and sometimes a little lacking in bass (I've also previously on Dre Pro's which were uncomfortable but powerful on the Bass Side).

I'm afraid of going custom because of the lack of return policies and am trying to find something incredible and quick (have about a week to return these UE's). I've seem to find so far the Audeo PFE 232's are the best out there that aren't custom and over a grand?

If I spend more than $200, I want headphones that are flawless - that I can blast with no distortion, that sound like over the head headphones, that handle all bass, everything -- life changing haha!

What's the best thing out there for under say, $600?

I live in NYC, walk a lot, move around a lot, and listen to them for hours and hours -- so comfort is a must (UE'S are very very comfortable once they're on!).

-- If you're recommendation breaks easily I'd love to know, but I have every bit of electronics I own insured. 

Thanks so much!

Dec 27, 2012 at 2:36 PM Post #2 of 38
I opened this thread thinking you were talking about the Ferrari by Logic3 headphones :p  Ferrari IEMs do exist :p  That said though, I really can't help you much in terms of testing the IEMs.  I don't blast my music, it would make me go deaf in the longrun.  I am going to say this, the majority of distortion you get from an IEM will be coming from the defensive mechanisms that are built into your ears with loud noises in the midrange frequencies.