First (and last?) Cans: Under $1000, Used, Open or Closed
Sep 9, 2021 at 8:13 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 35

ohmy

New Head-Fier
Hello! I'm hoping the more experienced forum users can help me narrow the wealth of available choices based on the following wants/objectives/criteria:
  • I prefer to purchase second-hand to maximize value. Maybe this also means something several years old so I can actually find a pair on the used market.
  • Would like to keep it under $1000.
  • Open or closed? These are for an at-home office that remains pretty quiet during the day, so open are acceptable, but I have no experience with open-back headphones. What matters the most to me is the quality of the sound. If you recommend one over the other, why?
  • More than aesthetics, I value durability and longevity.
  • Audio chain will be PC streaming sources > Schiit Bifrost 2 > Schiit Lokius > Schiit Jotunheim 2. Hopefully it pairs well with the Jotunheim. Balanced vs SE?
  • I listen to all kinds of rock, electronic, pop, instrumental, indie/folk/weird stuff, blues and jazz. So something that is well-rounded would probably be best. I can use the EQ if needed, so I don't need something bass heavy or overly sharp and analytical.
  • Personal experience is preferred over hear-say, but I also appreciate links to elsewhere if you know a good source.
Thanks in advance for any responses! :D

Sep 10, 2021 at 8:09 AM Post #2 of 35
Open or closed? These are for an at-home office that remains pretty quiet during the day, so open are acceptable, but I have no experience with open-back headphones. What matters the most to me is the quality of the sound. If you recommend one over the other, why?
Let me just mention that factor of sound isolation is two sided. In my case, I sometimes listen in quiet bedroom, so I don't need to block outside noise, but my wife could be disturbed by the sound leaking out of my headphones, if they are open.

Sep 10, 2021 at 9:28 AM Post #3 of 35