Good headphones for listening to music on my iPhone?
Jul 23, 2012 at 8:29 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

Infamous

New Head-Fier
Audio noob here. Just looking for my first pair of cans and I primarily listen to hiphop/rap.
Most often I listen to music from my iPhone(4s if it matters) and my computer.
My budget is $150 or less, preferably under $100

I'm considering the Sony MDR-XB700 as they have really good bass, but they are just so bulky that I would feel uncomfortable taking them out in public.

What would you guys suggest I buy?

Jul 23, 2012 at 9:31 PM Post #5 of 19
Wanna shell out an extra $30? http://www.amazon.com/V-MODA-True-Blood-V-80-Noise-Isolating/dp/B0058M3RXW/ref=pd_cp_e_2 You'll get alot of looks. For how good your headphones look
cool.gif

Jul 23, 2012 at 11:24 PM Post #9 of 19
Hip hop usually has only two elements; the beat and the lyrics.  Generally the midrange contains a lot of human vocals.  Why would someone choose a headphone with a V-shaped sound signature that minimizes vocals when that's a main focal point of the genre?

I'd say a headphone with a weighty midrange and deep extended sub-bass with tame-but-not-absent treble would be better for hip-hop.  But that's just me I could be wrong.  Unfortunately, my familiarity with headphones that fit the OP's specific critera is lacking so I am failing miserably on that front.

Jul 23, 2012 at 11:39 PM Post #10 of 19
Quote:
Hip hop usually has only two elements; the beat and the lyrics.  Generally the midrange contains a lot of human vocals.  Why would someone choose a headphone with a V-shaped sound signature that minimizes vocals when that's a main focal point of the genre?

I'd say a headphone with a weighty midrange and deep extended sub-bass with tame-but-not-absent treble would be better for hip-hop.  But that's just me I could be wrong.  Unfortunately, my familiarity with headphones that fit the OP's specific critera is lacking so I am failing miserably on that front.