Got my AKG K1000, what now? (I'm a novice)
Apr 18, 2012 at 5:38 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

josendk

New Head-Fier
Hi all, I'm still considering myself something of a new guy in the high-end hifi scene.

Anyway, I managed to get myself a pair of AKG K1000 and I can plug them into the Jack on the front of my Denon AVR 1907.

For the sound to be alright I have to turn the volume way up. Now I don't want to spend lots of money on a pre amp right now (I'm a college student).

I am considering this: http://zynsonix.com/Graphics/Gallery/Fullsize/4Pin2SpadesFull.jpg , but with banana-plugs instead of spades.

Please give me some good advice and don't be too advanced in your response.

Apr 18, 2012 at 5:40 PM Post #2 of 14
What? though they are incredible IMO the k-1000 is not the ideal starter headphone on a budget.

However by the sounds of things I recommend tracking down a well serviced vintage silver-faced receiver and using the k1000 via speaker taps rather than through a headphone amp.

Apr 18, 2012 at 5:44 PM Post #3 of 14
Apr 18, 2012 at 5:46 PM Post #4 of 14
Man, you went yard on your first purchase! 
biggrin.gif
  No personal experience with these beasts, but I have read here at Head-Fi that speaker taps are one of the preferred ways of feeding them.  There should be ample info here, so it is worth some searching.

Apr 18, 2012 at 5:53 PM Post #5 of 14
hey hey, it's not the first purchase. I own a 5.1 speaker system of cerwin-vega speakers and I use AKG HSC 271 for PC-communication and listening to loud music at night (living in a dorm) :D.

Getting off-topic, sorry about that. Based on the specs of the headphones and my receiver, does that tell you pro's anything that I should know? Can I damage the K1000's? Will it sound good and deliver enough power? (compared to the Jack). Because this solution: http://zynsonix.com/Graphics/Gallery/Fullsize/4Pin2SpadesFull.jpg is more than 120 dollars so I don't want to regret buying it.