Has anyone been experienced with ebay store LITTLE BEAR AUDIO? They have a cheap tube amp...
Nov 14, 2012 at 5:09 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

goforthepod

New Head-Fier
The amp I (a noob) am referring to is this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Compatible-6xxx-12xxx-6N11-12AU7-ECC88-Tube-valve-DIY-Headphone-Amplifier-AMP-U-/120990700325

but there are auctions of the same amp going on every day that you can get it for just over 30 dollars.  The question is: is it any good?

I think it is a modded version of a MUSE (which they also sell) but I have no experience with those either.

Feb 14, 2013 at 12:33 AM Post #2 of 4
I just received the little bear b-2 amp from them. 

http://www.ebay.com/itm/110961293704?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

not a bad deal for $59 with 4 different op amp chips to swap out and a li-ion rechargeable battery.  So far sounds pretty good.  Have to get some more listening time before I write a review.  So far it is driving my Allessando MS-1(32 ohm) and AKG 240S (55 ohm)...not incredible volume levels but adequate.

I had a few questions after I received the amp and received prompt replies.

Aug 11, 2013 at 8:45 PM Post #3 of 4
I just received a Little-Bear P5 that is the two BK 6N1 China tube pre amp.
Not a headphone amp but a pre amp with in-out RCA. I think it is a hybrid type amp, as the power transformer that is included is 110v to 18vac very small.
And gets very very hot, so hot in fact that I have to set it In a glass ash tray. Do not touch it or set it on your desk.
Not sure what these tubes run on, but appears to amplifies the heaters on the tubes with a rectifier section and some transistors, no heat sinks on transistors here, but did not seem to get hot any where on the board, even the tubes.
I put a larger wall wart transformer on it. 18vac, same as supplied one , only 50va rated. Well it worked fine for about 5 minuets and blew a capacitor.