HD650 amp/DAC?
Nov 22, 2014 at 1:59 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

Rewkie

100+ Head-Fier
I've been looking at threads on head-fi for at least 3 hours now trying to find a good amp/DAC combo for the HD650s I'll be picking up within the next week, and being the OCD ridden guy that I am, I find myself having a hard time making a decision. 

I enjoy classical music, i plan on using these for quite a bit of gaming as well. (i don't know if amps have anything to do with surround sound, i'm guessing not) 

Amps I've been looking at.

~Schiit Valhalla 2

~Schiit Magni

~Schiit Vali

~Schiit Asgard 2

~BottleHead Crack

~O2 amp

DACs i've been looking at.

~Schiit Modi

~Schiit Bifrost

~ODAC

Any suggestions would be really helpful as i'm a complete noob when it comes to audiophile grade equipment.  I'd like to keep the budget under $500 for the amp and dac as well.  I know i put the Valhalla 2 and bifrost in there and they break the budget, but if they are as good as people say they are with the HD650s i have no problem stretching the budget a bit.  (this goes for any suggestions as well)

Nov 22, 2014 at 2:09 AM Post #2 of 12
  I've been looking at threads on Head-fi for at least 3 hours now trying to find a good amp/DAC combo for the HD650s I'll be picking up within the next week, and being the OCD ridden guy that I am, I find myself having a hard time making a decision. 
I enjoy classical music, i plan on using these for quite a bit of gaming as well. (i don't know if amps have anything to do with surround sound, i'm guessing not) 
Any suggestions would be really helpful as i'm a complete noob when it comes to audiophile grade equipment.  I'd like to keep the budget under $500 for the amp and dac as well.  I know i put the Valhalla 2 and bifrost in there and they break the budget, but if they are as good as people say they are with the HD650s i have no problem stretching the budget a bit.  (this goes for any suggestions as well)