Hello, I'm looking for some help with purchasing a Quality Speaker setup for 5.1 audio to use with my Computer.
Feb 12, 2024 at 4:15 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

DragonSounds

New Head-Fier
Hello everyone, I hope you are doing well today.

Hopefully this isn't too long of a message, but I want to explain my situation and what I've learned thus far. I hope this is the correct place/forum to post this question as this site seems to be mainly a Headphone forum (I see there is a Computer Audio section here though).

----------------------

As the title says I am looking to purchase and build a nice 5.1 setup (I could start smaller if needed).

I am new to high/higher end audio gear, but I have been using 5.1 Audio speakers, with my computer since at least 2006/2007. I initially had an older Logitech Z2200E or something like that, and I most recently had a Logitech Z906, both connected to my old Creative Sound Blaster X-fi Elite Pro Sound Card.

My current issue now is that the Z906 has been having issues with the console powering on once powered off (or power outage) and I recently had a power outage and the console no longer turns on, hence why I decided to get a new unit as I cannot do anything to get it to work now. Upon doing a little research, people were saying that it just doesn't make sense to pay the outrageous prices that companies such as Logitech or Corsair charge for their units, and many claimed these speakers and such were of low quality anyways for the price we are spending.

These same posts were discussing what others do, using higher end speakers with a surround sound receiver to get what they desire, while using their Computer. This lead me to reading about Amplifiers/Receivers and different speakers, but I really am not sure what is good or bad and what is recommended, or what would fit my needs.

----------------------

What I would like.

I am hoping to purchase speakers and create a 5.1 setup.