Hello, in need for an amp or Dac for DT 880
Aug 2, 2014 at 12:38 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

JoeyBre

New Head-Fier
I'm completely new to the whole hi-fi audio stuffs. Just recieved a Beyerdynamic DT 880 250 ohms Premium to primarly use for music and gaming, home only. I plugged it in onto the back of my computer case/ motherboard, and quite dissapointed on what I hear. These cans seem to not be powered enough to be loud I guess, so I'm in need of a Dac or Amp. Again, I'm completely new to this whole audio thing. Something thats not too expensive :frowning2:

Aug 2, 2014 at 12:55 AM Post #2 of 15
The FiiO E09K + E17 seems to be a popular, more affordable choice for those headphones.

Aug 2, 2014 at 2:24 AM Post #3 of 15
I'm completely new to the whole hi-fi audio stuffs. Just received a Beyerdynamic DT 880 250 ohms Premium to primarily use for music and gaming, home only. I plugged it in onto the back of my computer case/ motherboard, and quite disappointing on what I hear. These cans seem to not be powered enough to be loud I guess, so I'm in need of a Dac or Amp. Again, I'm completely new to this whole audio thing. Something that's not too expensive
frown.gif

Creative Labs Sound Blaster Z sound card ($82.99), can easily drive 250-Ohm headphones.
http://www.amazon.com/Creative-Blaster-Beamforming-Microphone-SB1500/dp/B009ISU33E

Remember to disable the motherboard's on-board audio, in the BIOS, when adding an internal sound card.

Asus Xonar Essence STX, better DAC and headphone amplifier, then the SB-Z.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/ASUS-Xonar-Essence-STX-PCIe-Sound-Card-/161379250409?pt=US_Sound_Cards_Internal_&hash=item2592f3f0e9

Aug 2, 2014 at 10:56 AM Post #4 of 15
That STX will power the 880's to its full potential? Just making sure, because I looked up other threads here and its confusing. Getting a dac/amp for music, or better to get a sound card since I play FPS video games most of the time?

Aug 2, 2014 at 12:18 PM Post #6 of 15