Help choosing budget in-ears/IEMs for cycling
Sep 23, 2020 at 11:48 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

alicedc

New Head-Fier
Hey everyone!:) I'm a complete newbie who's been searching around for new in-earphones or IEMs

I mainly listen to music or podcasts when cycling so I'd like it to have some noise isolation from wind and also some water resistance from rain.

I'm also gonna use it for my nintendo switch and everyday phone calls, which is why I need a wired set and mic.

I'm quite eclectic in music genres (metal/eletronic/kpop/etc) so something balanced in sound, or close to that, would be nice

My budget is quite low, up to 50euros/60usd at most, but preferably less and I have to prioritize durability over sound quality ):

These are some names that have popped in my searches and their prices from amazon.de:

- KZ ZST €18,52
- KZ ZSN €19,99
- Sennheiser CX300s €24,35
- Sennheiser CX2.00 €27,10
- MEE M6 Pro 2 €38,62
- KZ ZS10 €39,00
- SoundMAGIC E10C €39,99
- SoundMAGIC E11C €49,99

Which of these would you recommend getting?
Are the more expensive ones really worth the price difference?

Thank you all in advance 🙏🙏🙏

Sep 23, 2020 at 11:00 PM Post #2 of 7
Most IEMs will have noise isolation to one degree or another. Very very few allow ambient sound (Westone AM pro series is one of the few, but $$$).

As far as water resistance and microphones, I don't think you'll find any that do both. At least I can't think of any that do.

H2oaudio makes some waterproof IEM's that have a neutral (flat) signature but no microphone.

I think your best bet will be sticking with IEMs that do not have 'BA' drivers which are more sensitive to moisture and ones that do not have a cloth mesh nozzle filter.

For a cheap ones to try there is the new KZ EDX which is a single dynamic and about $7 with a microphone cable. May be a tad v-shaped and bright for podcasts but may also be ok. Depends on what you prefer sound signature wise.