Help Deciding on an Under 200
Jul 20, 2018 at 6:56 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

wowsee

New Head-Fier
Hi everyone,

sorry if this post is a little ill-informed, I'm really new to a lot of this, but basically I'm here looking for a recommendation or resources to help me make a decision on a first set of good headphones. I have a general idea of what I want but I'm awful at deciding on anything, but basically I'm looking for a pretty solid pair of under $200 open back cans. I'll be mostly using them in my apartment, so I'm not really concerned about sound leakage, but I'm looking for something I can use for gaming as well as just listening to music, mainly R&B, Hip-Hop, Rap, Pop, and Electronic. I guess in terms of my priorities, they'd look something like this:

1. A wide, open, airy soundstage.
    • This is mostly about gaming, but also I really love when I listen to music and it feels like I'm physically present in the middle of the action. I played breath of the wild once on some Grado SR80e's and I don't think I'll ever be able to go back that was so addictive. One of my most memorable experiences was trying out the sennheiser 3d sound iem's once and feeling like I was in the middle of an imaginary room, able to identify with almost certainty where a sound came from in the room like it actually originated in that part of the room. I'd love to be able to experience that but with some quality over-ear headphones.
  2. Clarity and Detail