Help! Longtime IEM user looking to branch into full size
May 17, 2018 at 12:49 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

chupacabra314

100+ Head-Fier
Looking for full-size cans to complement my iBasso IT03 IEMs. Would appreciate some recommendations. Although I spent years researching IEMs, I'm a complete noob in the full can world.

Price: up to $400, preferably ~$200
Sound sig: similar to it03's - slightly U-shaped, fun sound, but not miles from neutral. Can have a little less treble emphasis but sparkle is a must.
Seal: closed back
Sources: mainly a Fiio X1, sometimes iPhone 7 or Alienware laptop. No amp but open to it.
Connectivity: wired is fine, don't care about BT.
Build and design: A stylish look is a plus but practicality and comfort are more important
Use scenarios: mainly listening to music indoors, often gaming, sometimes flying.
Music genres: mainly electronic, heavy metal, hard rock and smooth jazz.

So far I've looked into Beyer DT770 80ohm, ATH-m50x, Focal Listen, and NAD Viso.
The sound of the Viso's looks great on paper but I can't get over the weird headband design.
The 770 look a little bulky and their highs may be a little too much for me.
The FR curves of the m50x look somewhat all over the place and treble seems a little recessed.

Any other models I'm missing? Thanks.

May 17, 2018 at 10:15 PM Post #3 of 8
I think you ought to also consider looking into a Meze 99 Classics. Maybe read about it and see what you think. It has a fun, lively signature. It is possible it could work.

Thanks serman. Considered them but their FR graph shows their lows roll off a little too early. I know graphs aren't the full picture but they are almost always in line with what I hear.

I'm auditioning the DT-770 as I type this (courtesy of a coworker). Their signature is really similar to the IT03 however the cups are a little too big for my skull shape so I can't get a consistent seal, thus losing some of the bass.

May 18, 2018 at 11:46 PM Post #7 of 8