High End DIY amp advice, help with suggestions please!
Oct 28, 2012 at 2:09 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

ferday

1000+ Head-Fier

I'm interested in a high end desktop DIY AMP for my HE-400's (specifically) which are planar magnetic.  I would prefer solid state...but only because i've never worked with or used tubes before, so if a tube/hybrid will help with SQ then fine.

i've been researching a lot (but just beginning stages), at the moment looking at the CK2III (amb) and some of pete millet although all of his are hybrids (again, i'm interested in opinions on this, thanks head fiers)

don't really have a budget although with my prior DIY projects, i should be able to get superior quality for the price....so would like to be around $3-400 max for the parts and less if possible.  my DIY level is technically expert although i've never worked with audio before, i can't see it different than video which i have a lot of experience with .

so...i guess the end question is which amps (outside the CK2III) should i be looking at, and should i be making considerations based on my planar phones?  also looking at the beta22 which looks like a lot more power output.

thanks for any advice whatsoever, and links are uber-appreciated!  

Oct 30, 2012 at 11:05 PM Post #2 of 16
I'm currently working on putting together a M^3 amp to use with my HE-400's, I'll let you know how it goes. I chose the build because the M^3 is a fast amp with plenty of power, and decent options

Oct 30, 2012 at 11:59 PM Post #3 of 16
ive got a set of he-4's and i have to say that they sound quite good with my pete millet starving student. im going to be building a CTH Rev A from cavalli audio soon as ive read its great with orthos. its a hybrid as well. if i were you i wouldnt close the lid on tubes just because youve never worked with them. who knows, you might like tube better than solid state! i find the warmth that tubes can bring to the table really balances out my he-4's.