Love my Alessandro Ms1i but i'm thinking about upgrading. around 300 dollars to spend. Any suggestions?
Feb 9, 2011 at 6:48 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

mr.gandi

New Head-Fier
i'm not an audiophile pro  so i can't explain what i'm looking for in the exact technical terms, but i'll try.

I really love the Alessandro Ms1i performance, but i want headphones with more detail now. The Ms1is have great bass and acoustics, but i find that the vocals (mids?) are a bit recessed. i want more articulation in that area while keeping the great sound of the lows and highs the MS1is produce.

Looking for full size headphones (don't want IEM's) and i'm open to going for a closed design or open. i'll mostly be using it for home listening, and i do have an apogee duet to act as an amp.

i listen to Electronic music (more towards tycho and talkdemonic instead of dnb or techno)  
Hip Hop
alternative music (Radiohead)
Rock (Pink Floyd, Tool)
and indie rock, folk music. 

as far as the electronic music genre, i'm happy with what the ms1i does, but for everything on down, i would love to see improved detail.

Thanks.

Feb 9, 2011 at 11:50 AM Post #5 of 8
I have the DT880s, the HD650s, and the MS1s.

It sounds to me like you're looking for the detail and energy of the DT880s with the midrange power of the HD650s, and the fun factor of the grados.

I don't think you're going to find it, because if such a headphone existed, we'd all own it. Also nothing I've ever heard does midrange like a grado (note some do it objectively "better", but none with the same gusto and flavor that grados do).