Nikon D40X or Canon EOS 400D? or Should I Jump to D80 Straight Away?
Sep 10, 2007 at 10:16 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

EFN

Headphoneus Supremus
I am torn between those two. Both are highly rated at www.dpreview.com.

This will be my first DSLR. And what I am looking for is a strong performer in poor lighting condition and crystal clear macros. I am not a pro, this is just a passion just like my love for Audio.

OR should I go all the way to D80.....dang those upgraditis!
very_evil_smiley.gif

Advice welcomed!!!!

Sep 10, 2007 at 12:21 PM Post #2 of 10
Congrats on going for a DSLR, it's a great hobby. It's been slowly but surely removing my monthly budget from audio and moving it towards photography gear.

I advice you to go to a store and hold the cameras in your hand. I find the 400D to be too small for my hands which results in a cramped grip. This is my main reason for not having one and sticking with my 300D till I can afford the 30D. I haven't played with a D40x yet, so I can't comment much about it.

Good performance in little light and clear macros are not a function of the camera itself. New bodies deal with higher ISO settings pretty well, so this is all about the lens that you're using. In which case, the kit lens (EF-S 18-55) that comes with the 400D isn't much good in either.

Opt for a better lens on a cheaper body rather than a cheap lens on a more expensive body. I don't mean to throw you in the deep end straight from the start, but the kit lens is not good for what you want.

Sep 10, 2007 at 1:16 PM Post #3 of 10
Quote:

Originally Posted by digitalmind /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Congrats on going for a DSLR, it's a great hobby. It's been slowly but surely removing my monthly budget from audio and moving it towards photography gear.