*NOOB* Looking for starter headphones ~ $200-250
Nov 15, 2012 at 4:00 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 47

r3dMuGeN

New Head-Fier
Hey guys,

Ive been looking at a few threads here and there, first time posting.
I've just been using stock ipod earbuds and razor moray? earbuds, I have a Corsair HS1 PC headset at home also.

Im looking for something dedicated to my music (ipod touch4, or PC)
I listen to a variety of stuff, rap, techno, dubstep, r/b, classical

I just need some decent noob starter headphones, something a step up from basic earbuds
Ive looked around the forums and limited my choices down to several
Shure840, ATH-M50, AKG K701/702, Beyer-DT770, Senn HD-598

at this point, i think (from what ive read), for all-round quality Shures are the way the go?
Amp is to come later on once ive set into the headset (probably FiiO E7 or E11?)

advice?
Thanks

(please try to keep lingo noob friendly, im still learning) =]

Nov 15, 2012 at 4:08 PM Post #2 of 47
Your specified budget already allows for more than entry-level headphones.

Considering the genres you listen to, and how it's mostly bass emphasized genres as well as EDM, I'd recommend you to look into the Ultrasone HFI-580 (quality bass with the overall sound having clarity as well), or alternatively the Ultrasone HFI-780, which is a more balanced set with slightly less bass than the HFI-580 but more refined.

In any case, you have to know whether you want closed or open headphones, if they are easy to drive, also posting if your PC has an onboard audio chip, an internal soundcard or a USB DAC.

Nov 15, 2012 at 4:14 PM Post #3 of 47
Heya,

Closed back:

Beyer DT770 PRO 80ohm
AudioTechnica A900X
Ultrasone PRO 750

Open air:

Beyer DT880 PRO 250ohm
Sennheiser HD595
Ultrasone HFI 2400
Hifiman HE-300