Please help me find an iem in the $250 max range.
Dec 28, 2016 at 3:57 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 28

Dutch1Schaefer

Head-Fier
Hello folks, I'm fairly new to the headphone/iem world. As of right now I own a pair of yurbuds itx-2000 in ears and paid $60 for them. The sound is ok and seems to be marketed as a "workout" style system. And I also owned a pair of sennheiser hd 598 $250 headphones which I preferred over the yurbuds but they lacked in bass response to me. They were very detailed and clear sounding. Unfortunately they were lost in a move. :frowning2:

So those are the only two iems/headphones I have ever had experience with. A little about myself I mainly listen to post hardcore music, metal, punk, indie rock, emo, and folk rock.
Some of my favorite bands include: thrice, pelican, Russian circles, hot water music, braid, American football, minus the bear, if these trees could talk. I also play bass guitar and enjoy the bass in most music, but don't want it to be overpowering. I like clarity and seperation in the instruments and frequencies.

After doing quite a bit of research from awesome sites like this and others, I've become interested in what's called "hybrids" some say they are the best of both worlds. Ba + dynamic drivers. I was about to pull the plug on something like the dunu dn-1000 because of reviews I've read they seem to still have impactful bass, but not muddy or overpowering.

I'd sure like to get any opinions from others here on options of iems in the $250 max range that would suite me well for the genres of music I listen to. The reason I want to stick with iem is my new job allows listening to music and I'd prefer the iem over a set of full sized over the ear headphones. Thanks everyone for your time.

Dec 28, 2016 at 8:52 PM Post #2 of 28