Present for a good musician friend. Result of much research..
Feb 26, 2013 at 2:55 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 20

amigomatt

1000+ Head-Fier
I'm a musician and so is my good friend.  I really want to get him some nice cans for his birthday that is coming up.  I've done TONS of research, but won't get chance to try out many of my options.

He likes all sorts of music and is a piano and trumpet player.  His music tastes are similar to mine and he loves Queen, Dire Straits and other mainstream rock through to some heavier metal.  He also loves large scale orchestral music and funk jazz stuff, so dynamic and interesting sounding headphones are a must.  He will be playing them through a Macbook Pro with the Apogee external sound interface.  I'm thinking they need to be engaging, but still accurate enough to satisfy someone who knows what real instruments and dynamics sound like!

MY budget is around £100.  I may stretch further if it's worth it, but may also like a cheaper option!  It's a tough call for £100, but considering he has a cheap pair of Behringers at the moment and has never owned any decent cans, I'm sure I can find something that will be a wonderful surprise that he can enjoy listening to music on for years to come.

Some of my options include:

AKG K271 Mk II or Studios - Nice looking can, very stylish and unique design.  I hear these are a classic, but may lack a certain oomph in dynamics and low end?  Great for classical though?

AKG K550 - These are pushing my budget a bit and my worry is the well documented problem of the headband not having enough clamping force, which will give a less than optimum sound quality.

KRK KNS-6400/8400 - I've been reading great things about the 6400s and they are near the top of my list for this price range.  I wonder whether these would be a better option for the money over the 8400s?

Shure SRH-440/840 - Hearing good things about accuracy etc., but are the KRKs better?