Q701 question / help
Feb 27, 2013 at 7:32 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

Sierra419

Head-Fier
I'm purchasing a Q701 strictly for PC gaming (please don't try to talk me out of these cans because my mind is made up). I have a few questions because I'm pretty new to all of this.

1. I know I need a good amp (open to suggestions < $150), but do I need a good sound card and a DAC? My understanding is that a sound card is just an internal DAC.

2. Since this is just for PC gaming and not music, will I hear a difference if I run an optical from the integrated audio card on my mobo (Realtek ALC892 chipset), to the amp, then to my headphones? If there will be an audible quality loss there, then I would definitely get a DAC or quality sound card.

3. When I get the headphones, amp, and DAC (if I need one), do I just plug and play?  I know I have to go through EQ settings to get the most out of the headphones, but will they sound amazing like they're supposed to without messing with any settings after plugging them in for the first time? 

I'm nervous, since these are my first hifi cans, that I'm not going to set them up properly, they wont sound their best, and  I'll be disappointed to have spent so much money on something that doesn't sound any better than what I have.

Thanks for any help you can provide

Feb 27, 2013 at 10:33 PM Post #2 of 19
Heya,

1. You don't need a DAC, the soundcard is the DAC. Most gaming soundcards also have good onboard op amps. So you shouldn't need an amp either. Also, the Q701 is not that difficult to drive. Internet hyped up mythos. It's best with an amp, but it's far from "difficult" to drive unless you're talking about a cell phone from 5 years ago.