Replacing my Denon AH-1100
Jun 6, 2014 at 10:08 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

Bench

New Head-Fier
Hello,

I've been using my Denon AH-1100 for a few months now.
Before I bought them I was looking for a headset but decided to rather buy a pair of headphones for around 50€ and a seperate microphone.
Now I have ordered the ASUS Xonar DX from Amazon to try out whether the sound will improve by a lot as I am currently using my onboard soundchip.

However, I have been wondering if buying a more expensive pair of headphones will make a big difference, too.
I am especially interested in the products from Beyerdynamic as they are, according to countless reviews, very durable and sounding great.
So far I have not had the chance to try any pair of more expensive headphones (150-200€) and do not know what to expect.
Will there be a big difference between my Denon AH-1100s and for example BD COPs or BD DT990s?
I want to use them mainly at home but the portability of the BD Custom One Pros is also very appealing (Smartphone).

I know that I wrote a lot and hopefully this will not confuse anyone.
Also please excuse possible mistakes as I am neither a native English speaker nor experienced when it comes to audio equipment.

Thank you in advance!

Jun 6, 2014 at 10:15 AM Post #2 of 11
There will be a huge difference, not so much in cops, they are very similar, but better sounding. However, even though again, the 990s have a similar sound signature, but are open backed. I am not sure how much you know about this, but open backed means that they have almost no isolation, leak sound(everyone near you can hear what you are listening to) and have a much larger soundstage. They are completely different than closed headphones, such as the denons you have been using

Jun 6, 2014 at 6:09 PM Post #3 of 11
I mainly listen to progressive metal / metalcore but I also like Daft Punk for example. What kind of headphone would you recommend?