Rewiring of HD 555 - Help sollicitated
Feb 24, 2013 at 2:29 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

bananabread

New Head-Fier
First post!

I am currently considering rewiring my old HD 555s for multiple reasons, including the cable failing once in a while (short, I guess) and the cable itself being 1 zillion meter long (3m). I thought if I'm going to change the cable, might as well do it properly.

I have no real past experience in HiFi audio, although I'm very exposed to pro audio things these days. I'm having difficulties finding the information I need to complete this operation, I guess I'm simply not knowledgeable enough or I'm not looking for the right things.

Here is my current plan based on what I've found so far here + on google:

Inside connector (inside the 'cups' I think?):
Will use "motherboard" connectors (because that's how the 555s are connected inside). Like in this thread.

Cable:
After browsing a few threads, there seems to be a few names that come back often. Seems that a generally good idea is to get some Mogami 2893 as described here:
http://www.head-fi.org/t/538453/making-cables-with-mogami-2893

Sleeve:
I finally figured it was called a sleeve. I have no idea what to get nor why.

Connectors:
I want to use a right-angle mini TRS (1/8"), or a not too big normal mini jack. I will carry this around everywhere.
Again, so many connectors.
I have settled on a Neutrik NTP3RC-B just because it looked nice and I had to settle on something.

I will also apply a copious about of heatshrink where needed.

I need help for finding where to buy these parts, as i live in Canada, sourcing these is a little harder (US stores not possible, ebay.ca almost always devoid of anything, etc.).

Thanks for any suggestions!

Feb 24, 2013 at 5:15 PM Post #2 of 3
http://www.partsconnexion.com/

http://www.takefiveaudio.com/mall/shopDisplayCategories.asp?id=1&cat=DIY+Supplies