Sansa Clip Zip + Amp or Fiio X1 or Fiio X3ii
Aug 23, 2015 at 3:33 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

EagleWings

Headphoneus Supremus
Hello,

I have been using a Shure 215 for the past three years and I wanted an upgrade. So I bought a Sennheiser IE80. I mostly use my Rockboxed Sansa as the source and my Macbook Pro otherwise. Between the 215s and the IE80s, although I find an improvement in SQ, it's not a day/night difference when using the Sansa or my Macbook. (And, Yes, the IE80s are authentic. Bought it from a Sennheiser authorized dealer and performed the authenticity check on the Sennheiser website).

I am inclined to believe that adding an amp to my current source or upgrading the DAP will kick the SQ up a notch. Should I just buy an amp or go for the Fiio X1? I am ready to pay an extra $100 more for the Fiio X3ii if the difference in SQ is going to be significant. I am also open to hearing out other options that you think might work. I tried getting info from other threads but looks like the A/B comparisons between the DAPs were done on full size headphones and not on IEMs.

I'd really appreciate your help and input.

Thank you!

Aug 23, 2015 at 4:42 PM Post #2 of 10
If you get the X3 Gen II you can use it as a portable or plug it into a computer (Mac).

Aug 24, 2015 at 1:13 AM Post #5 of 10
  If you get the X3 Gen II you can use it as a portable or plug it into a computer (Mac).

I would definitely go for the X3ii. More power, USB DAC capability, and more pocket friendly than a DAP/amp stack.

Thank you. I am leaning towards the X3ii now. Have you had the chance to listen to the X3ii on an IEM?

What is your total budget? Knowing this maybe we can steer you in another direction DAP wise. Buying used, might be able to look into Ibasso.