someone help me, i'm a headphone newb
Mar 5, 2013 at 4:55 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

kendryna

New Head-Fier
i know nothing of heaphones and have very little to work with (an ipod touch and mp3 music files). I am interested in buying high quality headphones, solely for the purpose of listening to music. I listen to everything and need headphones that will be capable of playing everything with crystal clear sounds.  I was wondering if i could still get that 3d sound that people keep talking about from headphones with only those things to work with.  what headphones would i buy? would a headphone preamp help? any information is very appreciated.

Mar 5, 2013 at 8:26 PM Post #3 of 9
my budget max's out at around 600, but if i can achieve that 3d sound from my music for cheaper i would prefer to.  i will use them almost entirely at home, but i would enjoy having the option of taking them on the go as well. again, i will only be listening to my ipod

Mar 5, 2013 at 8:51 PM Post #4 of 9
Line out dock for iPod > Objective2 amplifier > sennheiser hd650 or hifiman he400 headphones. Possibly the akg k701 headphones instead, but they're kinda a love it or hate it thing. Listen to each before you buy

Mar 5, 2013 at 9:32 PM Post #5 of 9
thanks for the advice. can you tell me more about the headphone amp? what exactly does it do? can i adjust the bass and treble levels with it? is it a noticible difference without out it and/or is there another one slightly more portable that would do the trick?

Mar 5, 2013 at 9:49 PM Post #6 of 9
thanks for the advice. can you tell me more about the headphone amp? what exactly does it do? can i adjust the bass and treble levels with it? is it a noticible difference without out it and/or is there another one slightly more portable that would do the trick?