Sony MDR-V6...Should I just quit while I'm ahead???
Dec 8, 2012 at 4:19 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

gknocks

New Head-Fier
First of all, I apologize for not posting in that recommendations thread, but I really really wanted as much different opinions as I can get.  And this is my first post ever, so maybe I can get a pass??

Anyways, fellas, I've checked out this forum off and on from YEARS ago--never became a member until just last week though.  I'm a full-on noob when it comes to headphones.  And to make the problem even easier, I don't have much money to play with here (3 kids will do that to a public school teacher's budget).  I've had these Sony V6s for maybe 3-4 years and just absolutely love it.  

To make a long story short, is there something similar to these Sonys in the 150 price range?  I listen to a pretty weird range of music: everything from hip-hop/r&b to country to Bob Marley to Hawaiian slack key.  Problem is, I've listened to those Bose, Beats, VModa, and I guess they all have that "warm" sound that people talk about.  I don't like it.  I don't know the language here, but to me, the mids and highs sound extremely "muffled".  OK for hip-hop, but with Bob and the slack key, it's hard to describe......the music almost sounds "dead".  Just "muffled", for lack of better words.

Which is why I love the V6s........

So, first of all....am I right re: the mids/highs of those earphones I just mentioned??  Is that a sound that people actually look for in headphones??  Are my ears just untrained or messed up???  

And more importantly, do you think there is such thing as an upgrade to the V6s without getting that "warm" sound?

oh...I listen mainly straight from my iPad or iPod.  Thought a bit about getting one of those small amps but according to posts on here, seemed like it wouldn't help my situation....

Any thoughts are appreciated!!  Thanks!

Dec 8, 2012 at 10:27 AM Post #2 of 10