upgrade from nuforce icon hd
Aug 22, 2012 at 1:22 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

angelsblood

100+ Head-Fier
hi guys. thinking of upgrading my nuforce icon hd to another dac and headphone amp, and this time a separate unit. thinking of the little dot dac_II and little dot MK IV combo. what do u guys think? is it a worthy upgrade? reason i wanted to upgrade to tube amp is because i like the warmer sound. got the akg q701 and the denon d5000 atm!

Aug 22, 2012 at 3:28 PM Post #2 of 11
Specifically, what don't you like about the NuForce?

Also, a very common misconception about tubes is they are always warm.  Some are.  Some aren't.  I think the real advantage of tubes is soundstage and imaging.  Tubes tend to be more holographic than solid state.  But, there are plenty of cool and neutral tube amps out there, just like there are plenty of warm solid state amps.

Aug 22, 2012 at 6:32 PM Post #3 of 11
to be honest, i can't fault the icon HD. as i am quite new to all this (HD being my first dac/amp), i can't really explain to you in accurately. i just find it boring, and sometimes the "shh" "hisss" "tshhh" is harsh. i want the lush warm beautiful full music, which i can enjoy in loud volume. for the HD, it gets loud, but very uncomfortable. 

also, i want to "wow" my girlfriend(s) with separate awesome looking gear XD

so what do u think?

Aug 22, 2012 at 7:22 PM Post #4 of 11
The headphones you listed are low impedence, so you'll need a transformer-coupled tube amp or a hybrid tube amp.

The Little Dots are ok, but you could do better for the wow factor. Consider the Woo Audio 6, HiFiMan EF5, and the Bellari HA540 along with the Little Dots. These should help with the problems you listed.

Aug 22, 2012 at 7:44 PM Post #6 of 11
You're welcome. You don't have to buy a new DAC right away, or if it all, because the NuForce is a pretty good DAC in its own right.

damn... that woo audio sure looks sexy!! thanks for the recommendations; )