What are three Good 'Schiit-Grade' First IEMs (with Soundstage!) to try?
Sep 30, 2021 at 12:25 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

tlite

Head-Fier
Title pretty much says it all. I'm new to everything, wanting to try IEM's to see if I like 'em.

I tend to go for the entry to mid-grade stuff that punches above it's weight class initially while I get a feel for stuff.

Then if I upgrade to something else or try something else I have a benchmark. Think products of comparable value/quality to Schiit, Dragonfly, Topping, etc.

Budget- whatever gets me to that point where stuff starts to be decent, but thinking < $250?

Trying to narrow the field to at most three to try that might be good representations of IEM's?

FWIW I prioritize soundstage over other factors. I also tend toward neutral to warm sounding stuff. I also don't mind a little bit of bass emphasis but not looking to rattle my brain.

I have a Schiit Magni 3+, or may just listen through a Dragonfly Red with a PC or phone.

I listen to Americana, Rock, and the Hippety-Hop mostly.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Sep 30, 2021 at 2:33 PM Post #2 of 19
Are you opposed to buying used? If not, the LZ A7 (tons of tuning options) should probably be on your short list, and they come up in the classifieds somewhat regularly right around the top of your budget.

The Audiosense AQ7 can be found around $250 used occasionally as well, and is one of my favorites at that price point. Crinacle hates it, which helps keep prices down. :wink:

An alternate to the AQ7 would be the Moondrop Blessing 2 / Blessing 2 Dusk. Should be in budget used, very well regarded all-rounder.

Finally, with two hybrids you should probably pick up a single DD set. I'd recommend the Tanchjim Oxygen, but there are many other options around that price point.