What DAC/AMP to use with a MacBook Pro to stream audio to LDAC Bluetooth headphones
Jun 19, 2022 at 6:10 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

Jakelemi

New Head-Fier
Hello,

My first post and I hope I'm doing it right :) ... otherwise let me know, and I'll be better the next time :p

I would like to get help to choose a DAC/AMP to pair with my MacBook Pro to be able to listen music on HI-quality on my LDAC Bluetooth headphones.

I'm not an expert of this topic, so I have difficulties to understand what could be good for me.
Furthermore, I saw several YouTube reviews about FIIO, 5k and other DAC/AMP, but I cannot really understand what is good for me he-he :D

My budget, I'm not really sure, but I would like to not spend a lot of money if it is not necessary to my usage.

I will be using it mostly paired with my Mac and maybe using an EQ to customize the audio in the way I like, but I'm not an expert :)

If you had any recommendation, I will be happy

Thank you for your help

Jun 19, 2022 at 8:46 AM Post #3 of 18
Yes I saw thanks for pointing me on the right direction :)

So, as I understood, I can get HiBy R3 for example and attach that via USB-c to my Mac and output via Bluetooth to my headphones that audio in HI-res that great :D

Very helpful than you :)

Jun 21, 2022 at 11:40 AM Post #4 of 18
fiio bta30….
not really an amp, but so useful for many, many uses.

like adding wireless to any device, also can receive, and useful for converting usb to coax/toslink etc..

Last edited:
Jun 21, 2022 at 2:53 PM Post #7 of 18
Thanks all for the suggestions

The HiBy R3 is that a good device?

I'm asking because it is available where I'm otherwise I don't know other brands than FIIO :)

The HiBy R3 Pro does support LDAC and bi-directional bluetooth capability and SHOULD be able to act as a DAC for your Macbook Pro and provide a bluetooth LDAC signal to your bluetooth headphones, per this review and product pages: